J&K Building and Other Construction Workers Welfare Board

Government of Jammu & Kashmir


With the object to regulate the employment and conditions of service and to provide safety, health and welfare measures for the building and other construction workers, which is most vulnerable segment of the second largest unorganized labour sector in India after agriculture, the central Govt. has enacted the legislations, namely-“The Building and Other Construction Workers’ (Regulation of Employment and Conditions of Service) Act, 1996”. Further, the state Government under the said Act, has also framed the rules namely, “The J&K Building and Other Construction Workers’ (Regulation of Employment and Conditions of Service) Rules, 2006” as notified vide SRO-232 of 2006. Under section 18 of above stated Act, the State Government constituted the Board, namely ,”J&K Building and Other Construction Workers Welfare Board” in 2010 under the Chairmanship of Hon’ble Minister for labour and employment and Representatives of Government and Workers in equal numbers.

The Board May:
  1. Provide immediate assistance to a beneficiary in the case of accident.
  2. Make payment of Pension to the beneficiaries who have completed the age of sixty years.
  3. Sanction loans and advances to a beneficiary for construction of a house not exceeding such amount and on such terms and conditions as may be prescribed.
The BOCW Board
Vide SRO 355 dated 7th October, 2015 and Govt. Order No. 36-L&E of 2017 dated 15-06-2017
S.No. Present Composition Of Board Designation
1 Hon’ble Minister Labour & Employment J&K Chairperson
Central Government Nominee
2 Welfare Commissioner (HQ), Ministry of Labour and Employment, Govt. Of India, New Delhi Member
Members Representing State Government
3 Administrative Secretary to the Govt., Finance Department Member
4 Administrative Secretary to the Govt., Labour and Employment Dept. Member
5 Labour Commissioner/Chief Inspector of Inspections under the BOCW (RE&CS) Act, 1996 Member
6 Additional Secretary to the Govt., Dept. of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Member
Members representing Employers/ Principal Employers
7 Secretary(Technical), Power Development Department Member
8 Special Secretary to Govt., Tourism Department Member
9 Chief Engineer, PWD (R&B), Jammu Member
10 Special Secretary to the Govt., Housing and Urban Development Department Member
11 Joint Director (Planning), Rural Development Department Member
Members representing Employees
12 Sh. Mehjoor Ahmad Khan S/o Mohd. Yousuf Khan R/o Qamarwari, Srinagar-President, J&K Labour and Workers Union, Chadoora, Budgam. Member
13 Sh. Jagdish Sharma S/o Late Vishwa Nath-Secretary, Nirman Mazdoor Union, Jammu. Member
14 Sh. Fareed Ahmad S/o Ab. Ahad Sheikh R/o Halyan W.No. 13, Bhaderwah, Doda-President of Chenab Valley Workers Union, Bhaderwah, Doda. Member
15 Sh. Harbans Lal Choudhary, General Secretary, Bhawan Nirman Mazdoor Sangh, H/O Municipal Flat No.2, Prade, Jammu. Member
16 Smt. Ifat Ali W/o Hilal Ahmad R/o Gulburg Colony, Hyderpora, Srinagar-Social Avtivist. Member